Cristiano Ronaldo in Premier League team of the year but no Heung-Min Son
Home » Cristiano Ronaldo in Premier League team of the year but no Heung-Min Son

Cristiano Ronaldo in Premier League team of the year but no Heung-Min Son

WSL and EFL XIs revealed

by mimi pius
0 comment

Cristiano Ronaldo in Premier League team of the year but no Heung-Min Son:  The PFA team of the year results have been unveiled for the Premier League, Championship, League One, League Two, and the Women’s Super League.

Six Liverpool players – Alisson Becker, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil van Dijk, Thiago, Sadio Mane, and Mohamed Salah – included; Joao Cancelo, Bernardo Silva, and Kevin De Bruyne represent champions Manchester City; Antonio Rudiger and Cristiano Ronaldo complete the XI.  The selection shortlists were compiled by members of the players’ trade union in January and then voted for by other players in the respective leagues.


Cristiano Ronaldo in Premier League team of the year but no Heung-Min Son

Six Liverpool players earned starting berths in the prestigious award, including Alisson BeckerTrent Alexander-ArnoldVirgil van DijkThiagoSadio Mane, and Mohamed Salah.

Meanwhile, Joao CanceloBernardo Silva, and Kevin De Bruyne represented champions Manchester City, with only two other clubs featuring in the XI. Antonio Rudiger earned a starting berth after his stellar campaign at Chelsea culminated with the Germany international choosing to join Real Madrid on a free transfer when his contract expires at the end of June.

Finally, Cristiano Ronaldo enjoyed a turbulent campaign following his return to Manchester United. Still, he remained talismanic as the mood, and results, soured at Old Trafford – registering 18 goals from just 27 starts to earn his place in the XI.

Also, See: How Mbappe is changing the rules of the football industry


Unsurprisingly, Chelsea striker and Golden Boot winner Sam Kerr leads the line in the Women’s Super League XI after netting 20 goals from just 17 starts, including a title-winning double on the final day.

Team-mates Ann-Katrin BergerMillie Bright, and Guro Reiten join the Australia international in the award-winning team – amounting to four members of Emma Hayes’ champions making the golden grade.

Arsenal finished the season merely one point shy of the Blues and are one player shy in the XI, with Leah WilliamsonKim Little, and goal machine Vivianne Miedema making the grade.

Manchester City and England trio Alex GreenwoodCaroline Weir, and Lauren Hemp – who was also named PFA Young Player of the Year for the fourth time – earned selections, in addition to Manchester United right-back Ona Batlle.

PFA EFL teams of the year

Nine players from promoted sides have been included in the Championship team of the year, including five from champions Fulham. Bournemouth – who finished in the second automatic promotion spot – has three representatives, while play-off winners Nottingham Forest have one.

In League One, players from nine different clubs make up the team of the season. Champions Wigan and Milton Keynes Dons have two representatives. Portsmouth, Rotherham, Bolton, Sheffield Wednesday, Oxford United, Morecambe, and Sunderland all have one player included.

Champions Forest Green Rovers dominate the League Two team of the season, with five players included in the best XI. Three players from Northampton Town – who finished fourth – make the line-up, while Exeter, Tranmere, and Newport County have one representative each.

Championship team of the year

Lee Nicholls (Huddersfield Town), Djed Spence (Nottingham Forest), Tosin Adarabioyo (Fulham), Lloyd Kelly (Bournemouth), Tim Ream (Fulham), Harry Wilson (Fulham), Fabio Carvalho (Fulham), Philip Billing (Bournemouth), Aleksandar Mitrovic (Fulham), Dominic Solanke (Bournemouth), Ben Brereton Diaz (Blackburn Rovers).

League One team of the year

Gavin Bazunu (Portsmouth), Harry Darling (Milton Keynes Dons), Jack Whatmough (Wigan Athletic), Michael Ihiekwe (Rotherham United), Ricardo Santos (Bolton Wanderers), Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday), Scott Twine (Milton Keynes Dons), Cameron Brannagan (Oxford United), Cole Stockton (Morecambe), Ross Stewart (Sunderland), Will Keane (Wigan Athletic).

League Two team of the year

Liam Roberts (Northampton Town), Kane Wilson (Forest Green Rovers), Fraser Horsfall (Northampton Town), Peter Clarke (Tranmere Rovers), Jon Guthrie (Northampton Town), Ebrima Adams (Forest Green Rovers), Matt Jay (Exeter City), Nicky Cadden (Forest Green Rovers), Dominic Telford (Newport County), Matt Stevens (Forest Green Rovers), Jamille Matt (Forest Green Rovers).

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More